Well,  I figured I should join back in the blogging too.  Paul’s post had some very mixed reviews.  I am certainly thankful that I have plenty of hospital experience to know what Paul is talking about when he refers to things like, fascia, fistula or incarcerated hernia. Or when we are sitting at the dinner table with three other docs discussing the latest trauma patient and their plan of treatment…it brings me right back to ICU rounds, but without a ventilator or an IV pump…So, although, a lot of you would want to hear the rest of the patients’ stories, I will leave that to the doctor.

I have something else for you…Scottish Oat Scones!

Over the past year, I have tried several recipes and this is by far the best.  You can add anything you want and even make it ahead of time to bake the next morning.  So, here we go,

What you will need:

(Sorry for the bad pictures, it was early in the morning and I was too lazy to get out my good camera.)

1 1/2 cups flour

1 1/4 cup oats

1/4 cup sugar

1 Tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon cream of tartar

1/2 teaspoon salt

Mix the dry ingredients and form a well. Or add it in to my new favorite appliance…

The food processor.  Really this thing is amazing.  I do everything in it and it probably saves me around 3 hours of prep time a week.  Or this entire recipe can be mixed with a spoon…whatever.

Add to dry ingredients:

2/3 cup melted butter

1/3 cup milk

1 egg

Mix well.

Then stir in raisins, dried currants, chocolate chips, nuts (you can use your hands to incorporate the chunks).  Other flavors that would be good…cinnamon and sugar, apples and cinnamon, blueberries (non existent here), maple (ooooh, that is a good one, i will try that one next).

Dump the dough onto a baking sheet.  (I always use silicone mats, they never fail, never stick and you have to try really hard to burn it.)

Form the dough into a flat circle about 8 inches in diameter.  And then score the dough with a serrated knife, this will help it break into nice triangles.

Bake at 400 F for about 25 minutes.

Enjoy with coffee!

This is how I save one for later:

I get it all ready on the silicone mat and then put it in a ziploc in the fridge to cook the next morning.

Warning, if you are now eating a delicious scone, do NOT scroll down to the last post.

