I got to spend the day with Paul today in the hospital.  He was looking very good and got the IV out.  He was off all medications. We even went for a little walk to see the sunshine, got some root beer and then came back to the room and had lunch together.  Before he got back into bed he wrote a little update just for you.  I know you will enjoy it.

Here are some of Paul’s words:

Becca has been sharing with me some of the emails that have been sent in, and my heart is overwhelmed. My Jesus is a wonderful,
powerful and loving Lord! Your display of your love for me, which articulates His as well, has literally brought me to tears. May God bless you and glorify Himself greatly in you. There is so much I want to share but I’m still pretty weak. So I will give a brief update. Though I don’t want to speak too soon, I seem to have passed a turning point. After receiving a sleeping pill last night, I finally had a solid night’s sleep since everything started and I woke up feeling quite good. My doctor came by and shared her exasperation that she can’t find a diagnosis. (Internists can be weird about this. Yesterday, when she was trying to explain her amazement at my completely normal CT of the chest/abdomen/pelvis, I finally had to tell her that she didn’t have to apologize about telling me I don’t have lymphoma.) My fever curve has been slowing drifting down and the doctor decided to remove the IV line. I praise God for that… it feels wonderful to have nothing in me. I’m running on a fraction of energy, and I had to lie down after lunch. Though I no longer seem to be capable of feeling hot with fevers (I have been surprised multiple times to be told I had fevers of 101.8/38.8), I had the overall worn-out feeling of another fever. But my temperature was only 99.1/37.3. Assuming I don’t get worse, the doctor feels I may be able to be discharged from the hospital tomorrow.

Either way, especially without a diagnosis, we will plan on staying in South Africa to make sure the wheels don’t fall off
again. Again, there are so many thoughts running through my mind and heart. And I hope to be able to communicate them someday soon. Over and over I have been blind-sided and surprised by God’s love, expressed in so many different ways, since
this started. Thank you all and to God be the glory.

