Well, I have to admit that the best Texas salsa recipe comes from an Idaho girl!  I know, I wouldn’t believe it either if I (a Texas girl) hadn’t discovered it.  For our anniversary, Sophie (the acclaimed Idaho girl), brought Paul and I homemade chips and salsa as a gift.  It was the best gift (since the porch swing I wanted to surprise Paul with fell through), so we celebrated with chips and salsa.  And Paul immediately said, I think this is the best salsa I ever tasted. And Paul was right, it was the best salsa!  Several other Texans have also been here from the other side of Ethiopia to confirm that it is in fact the best salsa. So here it is…make a big batch and freeze it in these or can it (if you do that sort of thing).

Sophie’s Salsa

  • 4 cups chopped tomatoes (chopped according to how chunky you like salsa)
  • 1 cup chopped fresh jalapenos (with most of the seeds if you like it hot)
  • 1 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1/3 cup minced garlic
  • 3 T fresh chopped cilantro
  • 2 t oregano
  • 1 1/2 t salt
  • 1 cup apple cider vinegar

Combine all ingredients.  Bring to a boil.  Boil ONLY 10 minutes and then can or freeze or just put it in the fridge…trust me you will eat it before it goes bad.

Here is a picture of Sophie and I at a birthday party / bonfire night of fun.

Sophie leaves tomorrow for the states for a few weeks, so we are going to miss her!  Have a great trip, Sophie!

