Since I have some time to share, I wanted to share a couple of patients we took care of in the last couple of months. The main reason for selecting them is, while I do think they are interesting, I have pictures. Pictures always tell a better story.

Let’s start with a radiology quiz. First, what doesn’t belong? Second, what do you think this girl swallowed? Third, how would you pull it out?

This is an othodox cross that is worn around the necks of most Ethiopian Orthodox Christians. It is a bitter pill to swallow, though. We pulled it out from her mouth under general anesthesia. The side points were quite stuck so I had little choice but to utter a prayer and pull. By God’s grace, the esophagus was OK. I can only imagine how much fun it would have been coming out the other end…

The next patient has some rather gruesome pictures, so skip it if you’re feint of heart. This is a three-year-old boy who came to the hospital with a severe soft tissue infection on his leg. The infection was caused by an injection at a health clinic. After removing all the dead tissue, we had to perform wound care until it was clean enough to accept a skin graft. He did quite well and has gone home now. I’m still amazed at how brave that little boy was. He handled it like a champ.

